Forest Treasures

All rights reserved.Arielle and I spent most of the day in the Old Wood out beyond the East Glade. The goal was to start building a semi-permanent camp for the bushcraft school and spend the night. Well, we found a site to build the camp but the work itself got sidetracked by showing Arielle how to identify and interpret red squirrel tracks, and then by the 20 lbs of chaga we found and cut from two birch trees with the small axe I brought along. It filled the large daypack so full we had to leave some gear at the campsite. So, I’m back at the cottage for the evening. I kind of wish I was tucked into a sleeping bag in the woods just now, watching a fire crackle, but I’ve had venison stew for dinner and I’ve just stocked us with 3 years worth of chaga, so I’m feeling fine. Too bad I forgot to bring a camera–the Old Wood is so beautiful this time of year.
Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

