Firefly Pupa?

bioluminescentLast night, while pulling some new Irish Cobbler potatoes from the Potato Patch for the morning’s hash browns, I was startled to find a glowing creature in the soil.  It was bright, too, like a star had settled into the earth.  I took some pictures but due to the dark, the camera had a hard time focusing, and really does not do justice to the degree of brightness nor the purity of the light–which more a star-blue.

Here are the best images.  I brought it inside to photograph it with some more light, too.  It was so bright that even in the light of the cottage, I could still see it glowing clearly.  A friend informs me he thinks this is a pupating photorus fairchildi–a firefly larva.

bioluminescent 2

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.