Wondrous Wildlife

SAMSUNG

The bear had already started to leave by the time I was able to pull my camera from its case. It is circled to help you spot it, as I had no chance to zoom or properly compose a shot.

In the past couple days I’ve had some wonderful encounters with black bears.  Just yesterday I came across an adult trekking through some young woods, and the day before that I encountered a young one, perhaps two years old, working at tearing a log open in a wetland.  I had no time to photograph the full grown one, but I did get some shots of the younger one.  I only had moments, so I apologize for the quality of the image.  The moment it realized I was observing it, it decided to leave.  I had just enough time to point and shoot.

And there he goes, making off into the woods.  Shy creatures they are, I am sorry I interrupted his dinner.

And there he goes, making off into the woods. Shy creatures they are, I am sorry I interrupted his dinner.

I am often surprised at the terror with which people regard wildlife.  Black bears, by and large, are reclusive and avoidant of humans.  I’ve never had trouble with one, and I’ve encountered many over the years.  Everytime I encounter one, I count it a blessing of the Green Man, and have come to feel Bear is my totem, I stumble across them so often.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

