A Good Life

crystal trail smallToday was a good day. In fact, it was a good weekend. I did not get to do some winter camping, as I had hoped, but I practically camp every day, living in the woods as I do, and so much other needful stuff was done. I love a day’s good hard work. Friday I managed to get a third of those fresh logs cut up. They are old and large trees–such a shame they fell a couple years ago in a windstorm, but half dozen of them will finish out our wood needs til spring. The Hollow has over a million trees, so a few dozen logs per year to heat the cottage, drawn mainly from natural windfall and diseased trees, is quite sustainable.

Yesterday, I helped Daphne set up her website and FB page. That was an uphill battle. I do not hide that I am not technically inclined, but in my case it’s more that I have no interest in technology. I have navigated the ocean by sextant and compass and built computers from scrap. I can figure these things out. But Daphne not only is not inclined but not intuitive with tech either. She is a miracle worker with her herb garden, and good with the livestock. She is oil and water with computers. But it’s all done and she continues to progress along with starting her new business of sustainable wild foods and herbs and art.

Today Arielle and Daphne and I went to my woodcutting site. I threw the logs over the brook and up the snowbank and Arielle got them rolling down the other side for pick up at the truck. Meanwhile Daphne gathered much of the branches I had cut off the logs for superior kindling. I got it all home with plenty of time to cut it up and hauled it over to the basement library with the tractor. By sundown temps were dropping to about 0F. When I couldn’t feel my face anymore, I called it quits.

It was good timing. I went into the cottage to discover Daphne had made another one of her remarkable meals. I have to admit, she has turned me into a spoiled foody, and I do not even find it worth eating out anymore. Nothing the restaurants have to offer compares. Venison tenderloin steak with caramelized onions and leeks. Noodles with thick gravy with ox-eye daisy leaf spice. Snow peas from our garden, steamed in the tender pods and just barely crisp. And dessert was a pudding of oat dumplings and blueberry tart-creme. Washed it all down with my own elderberry wine.

rime of ice 2 smallHard work. Good food. Great family. Sacred Nature. I think I am the luckiest man in the world, sometimes. Any day, I can say I am exactly where I want to be, doing exactly what I want to do, living exactly how I want to live.

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A Good Life

  1. Angie

    I think Daphne should post her recipes!!

    • Daphne now has a website and online store where she sells herbs, teas and foods from our forest. She is just starting it and it is still being made, but she will be posting recipes and such there, as well as her wares.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 294 other followers

